Campus Life

Loyola honors outstanding staff at annual recognition ceremony


The University Staff Council honored the winners of its annual Staff Recognition and Excellence Award on Wednesday, May 29, at a ceremony on the Lake Shore Campus. Five staff members and University departments, who were nominated by fellow faculty, staff, and students, received awards for exemplary contributions and service toward enriching the Loyola campus community.

This ceremony included remarks from President Mark C. Reed, Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer Janice Parks, University Staff Council Chair Josh Jarvi, and the presentation of five distinguished awards. The categories and winners are listed below: 


  • Rising Star Award: Tiffaney Young, Sr. Program Coordinator, School of Social Work 
  • Student Service Award: Lance Boehm, Program Coordinator, Campus Recreation 
  • Team Spirit Award: Campus Recreation 
  • Kay Egan Award: Jae Joseph, Assistant Dean of Students for Student Rights, Responsibilities, and Conflict Resolution 
  • Staff Member of the Year Award: Nick Jones, ITS, Business Analyst 
The work you do every day has impact far beyond campus and far into the future when our graduates find their path in the world as people for and with others.

— President Mark C. Reed , EdD

In his opening remarks, President Reed highlighted the invaluable contributions of Loyola staff, emphasizing their dedication and hard work in fostering a supportive and dynamic campus environment. 

Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer Janice Parks commended the award recipients for their commitment to excellence and innovation and University Staff Council Chair Josh Jarvi expressed pride in the achievements of the awardees and the overall efforts of the staff council. 

The ceremony concluded with a reception, allowing attendees to congratulate the awardees and celebrate their achievements. This annual event underscores the university’s commitment to recognizing and valuing the contributions of its staff members. The Staff Recognition and Excellence Award initiative is a collective effort by University Staff Council and Human Resources. Learn more on the University Staff Council website.